Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

Unknown

Alright folks, lets be honest…

This was the weirdest book I have ever read, but it was also interesting and different.

It is told from the perspective of three people, Wink – the innocent and shy one (or so you thought). Poppy – the crazy, jealous and queen of chaos – but she’s got a secret too. Midnight the poor soul that just want to be loved – the pawn.

So… I am not sure I liked this book. Although it was interesting it was also very confusing. The mystery in this book isn’t at all what it seems, and when you think the mystery is about to be solved… and you will find out the truth and everything, the book just end.

I am still wondering about what really happened. I read the last few pages twice… but I am still kind of confused.

The characters were fun, interesting and well-developed which was good. But the story itself, the plot and ending was… missing something. I just didn’t get it. It wasn’t like wow how deceitful or cunning. It was messy and childish instead… A lot of time the characters were acting too much like reckless children instead of reckless teens. Also some of the things they did were unrealistic and crazy… Teens don’t usually behave that way at all…

It wasn’t so bad… At times it was catchy, entertaining and I was hoping for a happy ending or a very cool one. But there wasn’t really any ending. I don’t really like books that end without an ending, because I keep on thinking about all the possibilities, and the ways it could have ended, but it didn’t.

So there you have it. I have it 3 stars. Right in the middle because I am so confused still.

If you read this book and think differently, please feel free to enlighten me. I would like to understand this better, or just hear what you thought about it.

Thanks for your time.

Have a lovely week!

4 thoughts on “Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

  1. I wanted to read this book, but now I’m not sure. This is the second review I’ve read for it, and I’m not sure if it’s something I want to put the time towards because it doesn’t sound…cohesive, I guess. :/ Bummer because it seemed pretty promising!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I felt the same way when I looked at the cover. I thought wow this must be something… But I was a little disappointed. It wasn’t the worse book I have read this year but I did expect me from it. Oh well that happens sometimes with new books. I am reading Rebels of the Sand now and it is much better!

      Like

Leave a Reply

