A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

 
“Magic is tangled, so you must be smooth.
Magic is wild, so you must be tame.
Magic is chaos, so you must be calm.
Are you calm, Kell?”

I have to say, A Gathering of Shadows book two of the Shades of Magic series, was a lot more exciting than book one and book one was good. I love the tournament (Games) and how we get to see more about hoe magic works in their world.

I like that Lila goes on an Adventure in order to find herself, and how she learns about magic from Alucard, who turned out to be a very interesting person with secrets of his own.  Their interaction was very funny at times, I like to think of Alucard and Lila as best friends in a way. Lila is still hardheaded but different, she is trying to decide who to be, and what to do with her life. I love how she shows herself to Kell at the tournament. I like that she is strong when it comes to man and love, but still a heart is a heart when it comes to love… You can only guard it for so long!

I was surprised about Alucard and you know who.. (no spoiler). But I like the drama, and I can see how they come to love each other… while trying to forget certain things about noble life.

Kell was reckless in this book… well everyone was reckless, but Kell finely shows more of his dark side, and I am not sure it has anything to do with the fact that he is now bound to someone. Kell is still my favorite male character. I like that when he is angry or worry about Rhy or Lila, or how he can’t hold his emotions because that is when you see how much he care for them… He loves them that way, recklessly.

I am really looking forward for the next book, because the ending of this book was OMG… Like why didn’t you Victoria Schwab gave us one more page? Just one more page. I was a bit disappointed… only because I wanted more of Lila, Kell, Alucard and Rhy. I wanted more magic!

Rated 4.5 Starts! I really enjoyed this book!

Leave a Reply

