How many books do you Own?

 
The other day a friend on Instagram ask me this simple question. How many books do you own? It turned out I didn’t know how many books I own. 😐

So after a day of re-organizing my bookshelf and counting all my books. I currently own 127 physical books. Which is a shocker because I thought I have a lot more. The thing is I read a lot more books than the amount I own. Thanks to the public library, which I used a lot growing up.

I have also realized that up to the age of 18 I didn’t really buy any books. I guess I was the typical teen and hanged out at lot with my friends outside, riding bike, swimming, camping etc… I was very outdoorsy. It turns out I have read 159 books all together (as far as can remember and recorded). About 20 of those books are in a different language (Portuguese).

Now that I am older and wiser, I love to read and I’ll always prefer to buy books instead of shoes or clothing. I am very fortunate to be able to stay at home (caring for my 5 months old son) and read as many books as I can get my hands on. Even thou I didn’t start to build my library until my early 20s, I am glad I found happiness in books.

I have set up my Goodreads reading challenge for 80 book this year, almost double what it was last year (reading challenge as of now 13 out of 80).As it turns out I have a lot of time on my hands now that I am a stay at home mom and can read so much more. YAY! 🙂

Point is, if you love to read, no matter how many books you own or you can buy, as long as there is a public library near you, go check out books and read. There is nothing like the feeling you get after reading a good book. Plus people who read lots of books have better prospective in pretty much anything in life. 🙂

I will leave you with this amazing quote that pretty much sum up how I am feeling today.


Have a great day guys!

🙂

6 thoughts on “How many books do you Own?

  1. As for the physical books that I own, I just know that it’s a lot. Too much in fact for the little bookshelf in my room so there’s some under the bed in a container. Plus there’s the kindle books.

    You’re right about the libraries. I do go to my local library but they also offer ebooks online with Overdrive.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah. I am going to ikea this weekend to get two new bookshelves. I like to have my books organize and as of now I have 15 books that are on my nightstand waiting for a home. And since I don’t plan on stop buying books or receiving books I will need the extra room anyways. 😉 I only have 5 books on kindle, I prefer the feel of paper when I read. I know, I know not environmental friendly, but I do intend to keep them forever.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And donating the books that we don’t want to librarians is always good. We’ve done that a lot for my grandpa’s large collection of books. We’ve got to go back for the umpteenth time now with another box.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

