Gathering Darkness/Frozen Tides

17342700

“You want to know why I did what I did?” His dark brows drew together as if he were only now allowing himself to consider this question. “It’s fairly simple, actually. It’s because, without your bravery in the face of all that’s happened to you, without your constant scheming behind my back, without that fire of hatred and contempt and hope in your eyes when you look at me…” He hissed out a breath. “In the shadow my father has cast over my entire life, you are the only light I can see anymore. And, whatever the cost, I refuse to let that light be extinguished.”

I have to confess. This is my most favorite fantasy series of all times. All you need for an epic fantasy adventure is in this book.

Love.

Deceptions, oh the deceptions will ruin your life.

Betrayals like no other.

The dangerous need of power.

Revenge.

Again I am blown away and amazed by the turns of events in Gathering Darkness. Morgan Rhodes knows how to bring excitement and adventure to your life. I was literally glued to this book until the very end, then I immediately started to read book 5 (Frozen Tides). I have never been drawn to a story the way I am with this series. It is so addicting!

The characters are amazing. You will find very hard to forget them. Magnus and Cleo had become one my favorite. both hardheaded, emotional and so busy trying to prove themselves, they don’t realize yet the force being created between them. Jonas survived so much, yet I find myself worrying about his life all the time, it is torture. Lucia is changing. She is not as naive and lost as I thought she was, and she is determine to find the answers she seeks. Amara, Nic, Ashur and many of the other characters seem to be interested in the Kingdom of Mytica as well, weather is for revenge or for power. They are certain determine to fight for what they believe in, and as allies they will join forces for Mytica’s future.

I started to really admire the quotes in this book. It really sets up the mood while reading, attaching you deeply to these characters during their suffering and despair. That being said, this book is definitely the darkest in the series so far, but that does not mean the lessen one. I was still socked with all the secrets, deceptions and betrayals that continue to amaze me in this book. For that, I keep on rating this series 5 awesome starts!


 

“All magic comes with a price. A price that is never revealed until after the damage has been done.”

Wow! That ending was beyond anything I could ever imagine. I am still recovering.

This series had literally taken over my life, and my head. Morgan Rhodes had a lot of surprises under her sleeve with Frozen Tides. If you thought you had been stunned before by this author, wait until you read this book. The Falling Kingdoms series only gets better!

Everyone is after power, revenge or trying to save a kingdom. They have no idea about the secrets and plans the elders have in store. No one is safe, and there are few you can trust. Yet plans are made to take back the kingdom from foreign hands and an evil king.

Rebels and Nobles are allies, fighting  for a better world, but even they have hidden secrets. Nic is becomes stronger and seize the opportunity to become a hero. But can he trust the man he barely knows? Jonas is full of grief and wants revenge, but can he count on his allies, or is he just an end to a means? Amara is bold and fearless when it comes to get what she wants, and she will do anything for power. But her action will come with a price she will have to pay? Magnus is put to the test when it comes to his heart, his power and his life, and he realizes that he is not alone, and that he is already lost himself to a golden girl. The girl who refuses to give up on him, on them. Can their love survive the danger that is coming their way? The wrath of a brother, the plans of the gods themselves? Can Cleo keep her light in coming darkness? I sure damn hope so!

“She was his princess. No. She was his goddess. With her golden skin and golden hair. She was his light. His life. His everything.
He loved her more than anything else in this world.”

tumblr_o0b3osEJ4f1tgcknno1_500
 

This image is made by @larissarivero (Tumbl)

 

I am extremely grateful for that scene Morgan Rhodes gifted to us in the best moment possible. In the mist of chaos, death and deceptions there was the anchor of Magnus and Cleo to fill our hearts with hope. And where there is hope there is always a possibility.

If you haven’t started Falling Kingdoms series yet, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?         Like Game of Thrones? Throne of Glass? Them this book is for you!

I will forever cherish the treasure that is the Falling Kingdom series. Thank you amazing writers for enhancing out lives with your beautiful stories.

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Gathering Darkness/Frozen Tides

      1. I’m halfway through the second one, and, so far, I’m really enjoying them. I’ve grown a bit weary of super angsty love triangles. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series has some good romance without love triangle specific angst. Annndddd they are fun books 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have read Fangirl. I liked it but didn’t love it. I find it hard to find a really good contemporary book. I love Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, White Hot Kiss series by Jennifer L. Armentrout and First and Then by Henry Holt.

        Like

Leave a Reply

