The Wrath and the Dawn

  Book Synopsis (Goodreads)

WRATHcover

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend fall victim of Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected beginnings to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagine him to be

The monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love.
How is this possible. It is an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, he Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

  My Review

How do I start…

The Wrath and the Dawn is one of the most beautiful stories I have ever read. The way Renee Ahdieh writes about love is beyond me. She has a grace in telling stories that will break your heart and destroy your feelings.

Inspired by A thousand and One Nights… this is the best version of that classic story so far. And I have read a few versions.

A little something about the book… without any spoilers.

I knew I would love with this book from the first few pages. It grabs you and your heart from the very beginning.
Shahrzad is intelligent, beautiful and strong headed…just what Khalid didn’t expect. She surprises him in every way, and that is just one of the reason she manages to survive with her captivating stories long enough… long enough to win him over.

Khalid’s secret was more than what I expected… and it makes the story so much more interesting.
My favorite thing about this books is the way Addieh expresses the dangerous and yet beautiful love between two very different people who are united by their beautiful soul.
I love the dialog between Shahzad and Khalid… Every word the author uses has meaning, and nothing is there without purpose.

I have to say I never really hated Khalid in this book at all, I actually thought he was very interesting, especially compared with other version of this amazing story. Here Khalid is more of person, with feeling and desires, with dreams and hopes. I love that his personality and feelings are expressed in this book and he is not just a monsters without a soul. Because no one becomes a monsters for no reason at all, there is always an event, something that rips their soul apart and change them. This book explained that well, in this version of course.

I particularly liked that there aren’t many question left answered, that most of the things that happened when eventually explained in a way you can fully enjoy the book, and the end left me wanting so much more of Ahdieh’s writing.

I could not anticipate the end of this book., and I am usually pretty good at guessing the end. But Ahdieh surprised me there, and I loved being surprised. That being said, I love this book and I am looking very much forward in reading the next book in the saga, The Rose and the Dagger. Coming out May 3rd. 2016.

I definitely recommend this book for all those who want something different, that will touch your heart and mess with your emotions in a way you will never forget. You will love this love and adventure story even with you are not familiar with the classic Arabian Nights or One Thousand and One Nights.

delam joonam… to all.

🙂

3 thoughts on “The Wrath and the Dawn

Leave a Reply

