Six of Crows

 

23437156

“No mourners. No funerals.”

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price — and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Katz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his widest dream. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A conflict with thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A run away with a privileged past.

A spy know as the wraith.

A heartened using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction — if they don’t kill each other first.

 My Review ->

Six of Crow has everything you hope to find in a fantasy book!

This time, Leigh Bardugo really did it for me. She has always been a great writer and creator of worlds with her previous novels. But Six of Crow is so much more exciting, mature, and full of mysteries. It takes place two years or so after the Grisha trilogy. And it is very different in a really good way.

I love a challenge, a good fight, some adventure and of course romance. She did that and much more with this book. I couldn’t stop reading until the last page… and then I had to google when the next book is coming out. Unfortunately the next book is gonna take a while, but the tittle has been revealed… Cooked Kingdoms sounds very interesting.

The characters in Six of Crows are captivating, dangerous, funny and so much more… and that is not easy to do in a book with so many characters. I was so impressed with the writing and the way the story take shape, I didn’t want it to end. I love when I find a great book that grabs me like that.

I love Kaz. He is the perfect character, a little bit broken, mysterious, sad but loving, rough around the edges but deep inside he’s got a good heart. Plus he is a thief, a great one at that, and everyone likes a bad boy every now and then. His past stands in the way of some things, while fuel others… I wonder how he will deal with his fears for the sake of those he care about.

Nina and Inej are both lovely and deadly, although very different, they have a lot in common. Inej is so full of life and not afraid of much, I see how she has the potential to rattle Kaz and maybe even fix him.

Jasper and Wylan are interesting and very unpredictable but somewhat great together… I laugh a lot with them. I am still truing to figure out Jasper’s character as to why he is so important besides being a good shooter. I think Wylan and him might be more then friends in the future…

Matthias is the character that stunned me the most… very loyal to his cause. He is strong, handsome and so unpredictable… It look me a while to really believe the wasn’t going to betrayed the team. Love can change everything doesn’t it?


The romance of two particular characters weren’t the biggest focus on this book and I like that, mostly because it gives us more time to know the characters in a deeper level. I also prefer romance that are developed over time, with strong foundations, once you know every secret, every fear and every desire of that character. It makes the romance so much more enjoyable and intense.
I am sure the love story will pick up and continue in the next book. I would really love to see a little more about Kaz’s past and life before the Dregs, as well as Inej and the rest of the crew. It would also be nice to see some old characters return, from Grisha to help the crew… I kind of miss them.

Out of all the books Bardugo wrote, this is the best bar far. I don’t think you need to read the previous books in order to enjoy and love this book, but having an idea about the Grisha is very helpful towards the end, and it gives you more of a background about some of the characters.

Rated 5 starts of course.

Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

