The Bronze Horseman

6323104

“Good-bye, my moon song and my breath, my white nights and golden days, my fresh water and my fire. Good-bye, and may you find a better life, find comfort again and your breathless smile, and when your beloved face lights up once more at the Western sunrise, be sure what I felt for you was not in vain. Good-bye, and have faith, my Tatiana.”

Is there anything more beautiful than this book?

This review contains no spoilers, I really want to you feel all the amazing things this book have to offer without any reparation. I want you to feel all the feels. Trust me on this one.

I’ve never read a love story that broke me the way this book did.
I cried, I smile… I was surrounded by the purest and most sincere of love. I felt so shaken when I finish the book, that I needed a day to put myself and my thoughts together before I could write this review. But to be honest I am still breathing and living Tatiana and Alexander.

The historical background of the life in the Soviet Union during world war II was amazingly describe and researched. Paulina Simons is a genius and a masterpiece of a writer. She made me want to go and see these places, to visit Leningrad (St. Petersburg), Moscow and all the beautiful landmarks she mention despite the horrors of war that spread sadness, misery and darkness upon them at that time.

This book took me by surprise. I didn’t expect to love it so much, to feel so much for these characters. To connect with them, as if we were the best friends. You can look back at my thoughts while reading this book at Goodreads, and you can see how much it moved me. How I couldn’t stop reading it until the very end, and this is no small book. It is 810 pages of pure perfection. It made me think and see love in a very different way, now I take nothing for granted.

I loved Alexander’s character right away. He was prudent, loyal, strong and endearing to Tatiana. In the situation that there were in, I thought he did the best he could, all to protect the girl he loved. Even through the darkest day and longest nights. Alexander was the kind of man who loved his family, that wanted a good life and good things despite the tragedy of war, which made him a different man he wanted to be, but a good man non the less.
Tatiana was young, smart but naive too. I love her innocence, her purity and passion for Alexander. She was strong where I would have caved, and weak where most of us would not. She was different and for that I like her. I was a little angry at her for making Alexander promise things that would break her heart and then be mad at him about it later, because he did a great job at it. At protecting her, caring for her, all for her… She fail to see it sometimes, but I guess loneliness and war does that to a person.

Dimitri and Dasha were just a temporary rain storms to the a warm sunny summer day that was Tatiana and Alexander. I really couldn’t care less about Dasha. She was selfish and crude. Dimitri was as it is state many times in the book, a man who cares only about self-preservation, a coward and ill-manner bastard. Non the less, this love story wouldn’t be the same without them.

I could talk about this book forever, but the bottom line is, this book almost kill me in the most amazing and unexpected way. I will never be the same person now that I have read The Bronze Horseman. Never.

I will carry this story with me for a very long time, if not forever. You can’t never forget it. I am now in the middle of reading of The Bronze Horseman sequel, Tatiana and Alexander. And my love for them and their story continues. I will be doing a separate post for the last two books (Tatiana and Alexander & The Summer Garden) of the series, sometime next week when I finish them.

As you guess it, I rated this book 5 perfect stars!

You can check out all of my book reviews/thoughts here. https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/31348515-vivian

Thanks for visiting.

 

Leave a Reply

