The Lunar Chronicles

I am really excited to do this review now that I am finished with the Lunar Chronicles series.

No Spoilers.

CINDER

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Humans and androids crowd the raucous street of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless Lunar people watch, waiting to make her move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hangs on one girl.
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, sh must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Here is what I thought…

The story takes place in modern world China, which was interesting and different. It was a little hard for me to get into the story at first. It dragged a bit in the beginning.
Cinder is this half girl, half android that is just trying to fit in. Initially, she is pretty average as a girl, except for her family who things she is a burden, yet wouldn’t be able to live without her. Despite her set-mother hatred towards her, Cinder loves her younger step-sister Peony. Things only got interesting for me when Cinder’s decides to go to the ball with Kai. Then her whole life changed.

It was obvious very early on that Cinder was the missing princess of Luna, which Kai was  trying to find. I wish there was more of a mystery, in revealing her true identity, but that didn’t bother me much.
Iko, Cinder robotic friend was awesome, and a lot more mature and fun then Cinder. I love her so much in this book. She made me laugh a couple of times with her bluntness.

I had an issue with the romance in this book. It happened very quick and  without much preparation. It basically came out of nowhere. He saw her and her amazing ability to fix things and BOOM. He was in love. I wish there was more behind it all.

Once I got over that, I did enjoy the book.
I didn’t know much about most of Cinder’s robotic parts unit she gets taken by the government to be a test subject, which Cinder was forced to go. Then I was hooked. I was fascinated with Cinder and wanted to know more about how she came to be and her story.

Kai was great. He had a lot on his shoulders from the very beginning and I like how he dealt with everything. Like a prince should.

Rating this book 3.75 Stars!

SCARLET

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Here is what I thought…

Scarlet was my favorite book of all the series. I just love her personality. She is fun, adventurous, sassy and strong-minded. A breath of fresh air from the first book, which was a bit boring at times. The characters in this book are so much better as well.

I love Wolf. The dangerous, always hungry and angry Wolf. Who initially came to earth to destroy humans with his pack. But then he meets Scarlet and things change. I really like the relationship them. Not at all like the first book either. Their relationship was crazy and unique, but very romantic and cute. They were the best couple. I love how Scarlet drives him crazy first, then falls in love with him. And how Wolf tries to keep his feelings from showing, fighting against the connection between them. But falling in love with her was his destiny and there was nothing he could do about it.
When Scarlet and Cinder comes together the books really takes off and I couldn’t put it down. I really enjoy Cinder’s escape and Thorne’s sense of humor. There are great characters in this book, and I like how they are connected to Cinder.

Rating this book 4 stars.

CRESS

Synopsis (Goodreads)

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

Here is what I thought…

Cress is this really lonely girl who lives in space and monitors space activities for Luna. She never talked to no one but her master, so it is expected for her to be awkward, weird and immature at times.
However, there were some parts in this book I wanted to shake her senses into place. I get that cress was young, lonely and may ask rather stupid questions due to her lack of social contact. But still at times, I was like. Really Cress? Really? Some of her stupidity could have been prevented. So I didn’t like Cress very much in this book.

I did enjoy the rescue mission to save her though, and how Cinder’s crew risk a lot for her. It helps that she is great hacker and awesome with computers. I also enjoyed the story behind shells and how Cress met her father, who happens to be a very important man in this book. I almost cry when they met and said their goodbyes.

The relationship between Cress and Thorne was just that of any other teenager. Complicated! I did love the way he handles her, especially through her melt downs and panic attacks.
What I like best about this series so far, is that every girl have their own and unique story, as well as their own adventures. Yet all is still intertwine with the main character Cinder and her goal to save earth.

Rating this book 3.25 stars.

FAIREST

Synopsis (Goodreads)

In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.

Here is what I thought…

It was very useful to know what really happens in Cinder’s past, and the unhealthy relationship between Queen Levana and Cinder’s mother. I understood  why Levana is so evil and ruthless. It was a very sad story. Her scars and horrible burns reminds me of Cinder’s accident. Levana suffered a lot on the hands of her sister, which I was sympathetic about.
However, she still deserves to pay for all she’s done. And I am still expecting an evil ending for her, because nothing done to her was evil enough to justify the killing of a children and countless other people. Sorry, not sorry!

This was a good book overall.

Rating this book 3.5 stars.

WINTER

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever after?

Here is what I thought…

Boy oh Boy,  I wasn’t expecting an ending this good… no this awesome!

First, let me tell you. The first book didn’t impress me much, and there were somethings that could be better through out the series. But this book was AMAZING. A lot more fighting, adventure and feels…
Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Winter really surprise me. They become a lot more mature through out the book and much more interesting. Cress surprise me the most… I kind of liked her the least. But in this book I really enjoyed her. She finally gets a grip of herself, and fights for what she believes and wants.
Scarlet is awesome as always, and finitely escapes her horrible prison and finds wolf. I wish there was more about them.

Winter is beautiful and very very crazy… Her character was weird at times, but I did enjoy her and Scarlet together and their funny moments. I am not sure about her romance with her guard. They were cute together, but I had a sense that they were so much further apart in age. Maybe because Winter acted like a child most of the time. Their romance wasn’t my favorite, but I admire his love and determination for her.

The final pages were really nice, but it lack a little bit of romance for Cinder and Kai. Everyone sort of had their moment at the end, but I felt that Cinder and Kai would’ve use a few more pages. I wanted to read more of them.
This book is definitely worth all the little bumps here and there. I definitely recommend this series to anyone.

Rating this book 4.25 stars.

Leave a Reply

